OOTD & Somerset House

Beanie: Polo Ralph Lauren (gotten during London Vogue FNO)
Coat: Zara
Scarf: Zara
Top: Topshop
Jeans: Topshop
Sneakers: Zara

 

I never quite know what do to on Sundays. I usually spend the morning washing up, grocery shopping, cleaning and tidying up my flat, so by noon I’m exhausted. But, as I am in an energetic and joyful mood at the moment (more on that further down) I decided to go and see an exhibition I’d wanted to see for a long time at Somerset House: Guy Bourdin, Image maker.

I am going to be honest, I did not know Bourdin’s work until I saw the exhibition. I knew who he was but that’s it. For those of you who don’t know, he was a famous French fashion photographer. He worked a lot with Vogue and created many advertisements.
So this visit was very culturally enriching, and it turns out I really like his work. I like how he represents woman (many photographies are centered around shoes, mainly because he worked with Charles Jourdan, a famous shoemaker, but still, I like his work) and femininity in his pictures. I like how he uses light to show movements. And I like how « unresolved » his pictures feel. You kinda feel something’s missing and I love how it is open to interpretations.
I particularly liked the one with the red lip and nails, I don’t know why but I kinda of appalled to me. And then I also liked the one representing a face with millions of sparkles and jewelries. I found it beautiful and it reminded a little of Givenchy’s Menswear Autumn-Winter 15-16, where we kind of saw similar makeup work on the models.

I felt really inspired leaving Somerset House and SO, decided to go shopping a bit. I recently tidied my wardrobe and prepared a bag of clothes to give to charity, so I needed to renew a tiny bit my outfits. Not much, but still. Expect to see a clothing haul later on this week (I am genuinely so excited to wear what I bought!).

These past few weeks I’ve been feeling meh, bluh, like unmotivated, like shit basically. And it is only very recently that I’ve started seeing the bright side of things, and being more positive and all. I started writing a journal, which really helps, and reading more books and magazines. I also started meditating and running a few weeks ago. I’ve been writing on my blog more and more (if you hadn’t noticed) which is also really helping. An exciting opportunity also has arisen and I am very excited! So everything’s falling into place again and I feel better, braver an more confident. I’ve decided to be more adventurous with my outfits, wear less all-black and experiment a bit more. Hence the yellow beanie in my outfit, because why not.

So yeah, life is beautiful and I am just happy to be where I am now!

xx

3 responses to “OOTD & Somerset House

Leave a Reply

