Sunday’s Reading List

I haven’t blogged in a while and I apologise for that. I finally found a good work/life balance, so when I am not working my ass off for uni (god knows second year is more demanding than the first. I also put a lot of pressure on myself to achieve good grades), I am either at the gym (working on dat knee), watching series/TV (thank god for the French equivalent of the Great British Bake Off) or reading!

To be honest, I had not properly read a book in a long time. When I was younger I was a bookworm. Then came high school, where I took English Literature and I was forced to take in a whole bunch of classic English novels. At the end of highschool I was kind of sick of reading, I could not read a sentence without analysing, scanning, interpreting.

But with uni being very demanding, I wanted to start reading again, so that I could escape that pile of essays a little. I started with books I could easily dive into, books I had been recommended, books I knew were good.

Anatomy of a misfit” – Andrea Porter: the story of a girl’s rejection of her high school’s hierarchy and her discovery of her true self in the face of a tragedy. It is so funny, and at the same time so true/sad/beautiful/powerful, I adored it.

The beginning of everything” – Robin Schneider: basically, how an accident can change someone’s life. The narrator’s witty criticisms and sense of observation surprised me a little at the beginning, but when I got used to it, I found the novel full of compassion, humour and so philosophical. It made me think a little about my own knee injury and how it affected my perception of my body and environment.

The casual vacancy” – J.K Rowling: I began reading it during summer 2013, so just at the end of high school. And I didn’t like it, I think I only read the first two chapters. I re-read it seriously a month ago and completely fell for it. It depicts the life of a small English town, after a councillor dies, leaving a “casual vacancy” on the Parish Council. I found that the major part of the novel is about building the tension, discovering the characters, their life, beginning to like some of them, and then BAM!, the last few chapters happen so fast and are so heart-breaking/upset, I loved it!

It” – Alexa Chung: well, that last one is not a proper novel, but as I love fashion, I kinda got attracted by it. Written by “it-girl” Alexa Chung, it is very visual, refreshing and a great source of inspiration.

What about you? What books have you been reading recently?

Leave a Reply

