The review: NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

Neutral palettes have been trending for a while now. I already own Urban Decay’s Naked Basic and Naked 3, but I have been looking for a more complete palette. So when NARS launched its new eyeshadow palette, NARSissist, and as I am new to these eyeshadows, I decided to give it a go – and dang! it’s amazing.

The NARSissist palette comes in the NARS’s signature matte black, rubber like finish, which I really like but which gets dirty really really easily.

The palette has 15 eyeshadows, 14 of them are already existing shades, only “Bad Behaviour”, a shimmery, blue-toned shadow is in limited edition (from the Guy Bourdin holiday collection) . There’s a good mix of cool/warm-toned shadows, and mattes/shimmers. I like how there’s such a wide spectrum of neutral shades.

I bought the palette at Sephora, for 49 euros, which is very cheap for NARS, just under the price of 3 of their single eyeshadows.

Although the majority of the eyeshadows are very pigmented, smooth and easy to blend, the highlighting ones don’t swatch very well. I think overall, the NARS palette is very muted and you can easily create sophisticated yet modern looks.

Here are the 15 shades:

Bellissima I: a shimmering beige with subtle glitter/Madrague II: a matte caramel/All About Eve I: a flesh-toned neutral

Lhasa: a lavender grey/Nepal: a soft, sheer rose/Madrague: a matte cream

Bad Behavior: a deep pewter/Ashes to Ashes: a shimmery violet-based brown/Fez: a velvety cocoa

Dogon: a charcoal black/Brousse: a black violet/Bali: a neutral

Pandora: a matte black/Mekong: an espresso infused with gold/Coconut Grove: a deep brown infused with reflections

The only con for me would be the size of the shades: too small, they are not blending brush friendly.

In the end, I really really like this palette, it is the ideal mix of neutral colors, perfect for creating nude everyday looks or beautiful brown smokey eyes. I can see myself using it on a daily basis, plus, it has the perfect travelling size.

What do you think about this palette? Do you want to give it a go?

2 responses to “The review: NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

  1. I’ve had the opportunity to test the Narcissist palette and I loved it. But be aware that it’s a limited edition and can be now hard to find! If you want it, hurry…

Leave a Reply

