Green Tea Matcha Madeleines (yummy!)

Apart from fashion and beauty, cooking is also one of my passions. Though I am a student (and by that I mean, living in an accomodation without all the cool cooking appliances and stuff that I used to have at home) and don’t always have time to cook a proper lunch/dinner, I try to squeeze in my timetable some moments where I can bake and learn new cooking skills.

Last week, I decided to try out a recipe I found on Sorted Food: Green Tea and White Chocolate Madeleines. For those of you who don’t already know Sorted Food, they are a group of four friends, making “quick, easy and delicious videos” on YouTube so that more of our generation gets into the kitchen. They make awesome sexy food and always show the easiest/cheapest way to reproduce their recipes.

So here is the recipe: I only made the green tea matcha part (I found the green tea matcha in a japanese supermarket near Oxford Street: Japan Centre; but I am sure you can find some online) because I did not have white chocolate (I can’t have everything).

Ingredients (36 madeleines)

  • butter, melted (60g)
  • 1 tbsp of matcha green tea powder
  • 2 small eggs, at room temperature
  • caster sugar (65g)
  • pinch of salt
  • self-raising flour (90g)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • bar of white chocolate (100g)
  • handful of black sesame seeds
  • 1 litre of (vanilla) rice milk
  • dash of vanilla extract if not using vanilla milk
  • handful of ice cubes

Recipe

Preheat an oven to 220°C and spray a silicon madeleine mould with oil.
Melt the butter in a small pan or bowl in a microwave.
Whip the eggs up with the sugar and pinch of salt using a hand mixer until its tripled in volume and is very light a fluffy.
Fold the flour and baking powder into the bowl.
Stir through the melted butter and matcha powder carefully to keep all the air in the batter.
Transfer the mixture to a piping bag and portion into the moulds filling them up 3/4.
Bake for 7 minutes until puffed, light and spongey.
Turn the cooked sponges out of their moulds and leave to cool on a wire rack.
Melt the white chocolate in a microwave or bowl over simmering water and transfer to a piping bag with small nozzle.
Drizzle the chocolate over the cooled madeleines and whilst the chocolate is melted, sprinkle with black sesame seeds.
Serve once the chocolate has set along with a glass of vanilla rice milk blitzed up with ice.

Et Voila! Obviously I did not have madeleine moulds but I did it in normal muffin moulds and the result was superb: perfect, light and spongey madeleines. I also added lemon zest and vanilla extract, but that part is up to you.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

